June 14, 2024

International Songwriting CompetitionNow Accepting Entries
2004 International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

ISC is the perfect opportunity for bands, artists and songwriters looking to gain exposure in the music industry. In addition to celebrity judges such as Sean “P. Diddy” Combs, Bo Diddley, John Ondrasik (Five For Fighting) and more, ISC judges also include many high-profile record label executives who turn to ISC, looking for new talent. “This (ISC) is a great A&R source to find new artists,” stated Monte Lipman, President of Universal Records.

ISC 2004 will yield 50 winners that will share in $100,000 cash and prizes; but for many songwriters, the prizes are just one of the many benefits from winning a competition of this stature. Today’s music industry is highly competitive, and winning the ISC can help open doors for an artist: “I’ve had requests from labels in America asking me to send them more music, and there just seems to be so much good will with this competition” said British singer-songwriter Jane Taylor (2003 ISC Folk/Singer-Songwriter category winner).

The exposure and attention given to their songwriting achievements is another benefit for many ISC winners. “Winning the ISC is the highlight of my composing career. Radio stations celebrated my win in their news bulletins, with one even describing me as a national treasure!” said 2003 Grand Prize winner Moana Maniapoto. Echoing that sentiment is Rick Fines, the 2003 Blues category winner: “The media has been really good to me since winning! I am thrilled with the prizes and the media attention!”

ISC is now accepting entries in 16 musical categories. Deadline for submission is October 15, 2004. http://www.songwritingcompetition.com

2004 Judges: Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Bo Diddley; John Ondrasik (Five For Fighting); Taj Mahal; Clint Black; Sean “P. Diddy” Combs; Macy Gray; Aaron Lewis (Staind); David Hidalgo (Los Lobos); Branford Marsalis; Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); Peter Furler (Newsboys); Sully Erna (Godsmack); Stacey Earle; Scott Kirkland (The Crystal Method); Michael Gudinski (Chairman, Mushroom Group of Companies); Alan Meltzer (CEO, Wind Up Records); Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Michael McDonald (President, ATO Records); Tracy Gershon (Sr. Dir A&R/Artist Dev, Sony Records Nashville); Chris Parr (VP of Music Programming & Talent Relations, CMT); Peter Asher (Co-President, Sanctuary Artist Management); Kim Stephens (VP A&R, Lava Records); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada) and Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People).

Categories for 2004: AAA/Roots/Americana, Dance/Electronica, Jazz, R&B/Hip-Hop, Blues, Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Lyrics Only, Rock, Children’s Music, Gospel/Christian, Performance, Teen, Country, Instrumental, Pop/Top 40, World Music

International Songwriting Competition
211 Seventh Avenue North, Suite LL-20
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: 615.251.4441
Fax: 615.251.4442

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *