The Loudhorns – One For Maynard

The Loudhorns
One For Maynard
The Loudhorns – 2009

The Loudhorns live up to their name. Comprised of Nashville’s top studio brass players – players who have shared the stage and recording studio with superstars such as Elton John, Paul Simon, Aretha Franklin, Garth Brooks, Maynard Ferguson, Tony Bennett, Randy Brecker and Larry Carlton – The Loudhorns deliver a potent mixture of jazz, funk, R&B and rock. The group consists of Steve Patrick, Vinnie Ciesielski and Mike Casteel on trumpet, Erin Horner on horn, Barry Green and Roy Agee on trombone, and Joe Murphy on tuba. The band is anchored by a rhythm section featuring Adam Agati on guitar, Ron Gilmore ..boards, Tony Nagy on bass, and drummer Jason Waters.

The band’s debut album, One For Maynard, features nine tracks and, as its title suggests, is a tribute to the late Maynard Ferguson, the legendary jazz trumpet player whose instantly identifiable sound set a new standard for loud, powerful, aggressive brass playing. Interestingly, lead trumpet player Steve Patrick was a member of Maynard Ferguson’s band in the early 1990’s.

The CD features five covers of songs made famous by Ferguson, including “Give It One”, “La Fiesta”, “Left Bank Express”, “Superbone Meets the Bad Man”, and “Birdland”. Ferguson was also known for his instrumental covers of hit pop songs and THE LOUDHORNS pay tribute to that practice through their covers of Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish”, Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” and Aerosmith’s “Fly Away From Here”.