Terence Blanchard – Let’s Get Lost

Let's Get LostLet’s Get Lost
Terence Blanchard
(Sony – 2001)
by Dick Bogle

What’s billed as a celebration of songwriter Jimmy McHugh turns out to be more than just that. It is a celebration also of the very best female jazz vocalists. The lineup is imposing: Diana Krall, the cool seductive songstress; Jane Monheit, the gorgeous talented newcomer; Dianne Reeves, the reigning queen; and Cassandra Wilson, the challenger with her own niche of the market.

Artists of this magnitude deserve the best for accompaniment and here they get it. Trumpeter-arranger Terence Blanchard has his imprint firmly embossed throughout the project as soloist and arranger. He uses pianist Edward Simon, bassist Derek Nevergelt, saxophonist Bruce Winston and drummer Eric Harland to provide all those grand women singers perfect backing. Krall’s one tune, “Let’s Get Lost” is the opener. It is typical Diana — husky voice insinuating sensual pleasure. Monheit follows with the tune “Too Young To Go Steady,” so very appropriate for her style, drenched with innocence. And that is the way she sounds, young, fresh and innocent. Blanchard’s solo between her choruses is artfully performed as he takes the melody towards a plaintive cry, bending and twisting his notes.

The incomparable Dianne Reeves offers a fairly sedate first chorus on “I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me.” Blanchard’s trumpet punctuates her light scat on the second. On a later cut, she offers a sprightly “Can’t Get Out Of This Mood.”

Cassandra Wilson tackles “On The Sunny Side Of The Street,” and indelibly stamps her style on this chestnut with her delightful and original phrasing. There are four instrumental tunes as well: “Lost In A Fog,” “You’re A Sweetheart,” “I’m In The Mood For Love,” and “Exactly Like You.” This is a landmark.