NEXT Collective – Cover Art

NEXT Collective is an exciting ensemble of experienced jazz artists. The collective includes alto saxophonist Logan Richardson, tenor saxophonist Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams, trumpeter Christian Scott and producer Chris Dunn.Cover Art is their debut recording for Concord Music Group.

The record was concieved by Concord Senior Director of A&R, producer Chris Dunn as a vehicle to feature these musicians on a project of covers from their generation. Each member of the collective chose to interpret and arrange songs by Jay Z and Kanye West (“No Church In The Wild,”) Drake (“Marvin’s Room,”) N.E.R.D (“Fly or Die,”) Bon Iver (“Perth,”) and Little Dragon (“Twice,”) among others. Listen with open ears and remain focused because they take you on a musical journey that you’ll remember for some time.

Reprinted with permission of…
Sounds of Timeless Jazz