Rhythm Sessions
Lee Ritenour – Rhythm Sessions

In addition to the great guitar playing that Lee Ritenour offers his listeners on his latest release called Rhythm Sessions, the 12 distinctive rhythm sections he employed are what makes this recording a masterpiece. The musicians he invited to play on these 12 sessions are an elite group of award-winning veterans as well as exciting newcomers who compliment Lee Ritenour’s amazing sound with their own versatility and innovative musical techniques.

Among the stellar special guests are Chick Corea, George Duke, Stanley Clarke, Christian McBride, Dave Grusin, Marcus Miller and the winners of Lee Ritenour’s Annual Six-String Theory International Competition and many others. The set includes compositions you are sure to love since they embrace a variety of sounds and grooves, all rooted in jazz, but also layered with shades of funk, R&B, Latin, World Music and more. Ritenour produced, arranged and wrote 5 of the songs with several of the featured musicians as inspiration.

The set opens with “The Village,” a funky piece that features George Duke out front on Fender Rhodes and Moog synthesizer with Lee, Stanley Clarke, Dave Weckl and Munyungo Jackson doing their thing. This song features a dynamic solo by Clarke on acoustic bass and the awesome chops of Ritenour. “River Man” features Kurt Elling’s expressive vocals and storytelling and the accompaniment of Dave Grusin, Nathan East, Will Kennedy, Ariel Mann and a soulful solo by Lee Ritenour. This is one great song and is certain to get a second and third listen from you, dear listener. With a dynamic aggregation of musicians that includes Patrice Rushen and Marcus Miller, Lee once again proves his worth as a musician and dynamic interpreter on Herbie Hancock’s “Fat Albert Rotunda.” Miller contributes his trademark funky bass riffs and Patrice Rushen’s distinct character on acoustic piano shines through beautifully.

Christian McBride offers his awesome acoustic bass interpretation during a solo on “800 Streets By Feet” – a song made famous by EST. Chick Corea’s “Children’s Song” gets an update from the master himself as he and Lee are accompanied by Alan Pasqua, Peter Erskine, Chuck Berghofer and Ariel Mann. John Beasley’s piano playing on “Spam-Boo-Limbo” is an effective highlighter for Lee’s spirited guitar playing. One of the prettiest songs on the CD is “Rose Petals.” The song is played with the same delicacy as a rose petal and everyone contributes brilliant bits of musicality. While all of the songs on this great program are priceless, the addition of these masterful players makes this one of Lee Ritenour’s best recordings in his repertoire. Click HERE to Buy Rhythm Sessions now.

Reprinted with permission of…
Sounds of Timeless Jazz

Rhythm Sessions

Leave a Reply

JazzUSA Merchandise
BlackUSA History

The First Black Sorority was formed on the campus of Howard University. The brainchild of Ethel Hedg [...]

Omega Psi Phi (ΩΨΦ) is an international fraternity with over 700 undergraduate and graduate chapters [...]

Ida B. Wells-Barnett Anti-lynching crusader and journalist. [...]

Alpha Phi Alpha Alpha Phi Alpha [...]

At the 1988 Olympic trials, while outfitted in a one-legged purple track suit and sporting four inch [...]

On Memorial Day in 1948, the Columbia River, swirling fifteen feet above normal, punched a hole in a [...]

Big Joe Turner R&B Pioneer [...]

Crispus Attucks First person to die in the American Revolution. [...]

Bayard Rustin Civil Rights Advocate [...]

Paul Lawrence Dunbar Poet, Author [...]

Marjorie Joyner First African American Female Patent Holder [...]

Alex Haley Novelist [...]

Pinckney Benton Stewart Pinchback Union Officer [...]

Sarah Vaughan Singer [...]

William Eldon "Willie" O'Ree First Black to play in the NHL [...]