David Weiss – The Mirror

David Weiss
The Mirror

(Fresh Sound New Talent – 2004)
by Paula Edelstein
Trumpeter David Weiss continues his award-winning ways and stretches the boundaries of his trumpeting skills with THE MIRROR. Inspired by the works of Russian filmmaker Andrei Tarkovsky, Weiss’ pieces relate to images and emotional textures and his versatile storytelling contains a combination of dynamics, color and moods.

As the leader of the New Jazz Composers Octet, David Weiss has built a solid reputation for his ability to evoke memorable performance from his sextet – Xavier Davis, Marcus Strickland, Myron Walden, Dwayne Burno and EJ Strickland as Weiss writes for them such expressive songs as “Stalker,” “The Mirror” “Love Letter To One Not Yet Met,” and “Mr. Jin.” With guest artists Nasheet Waits on drums, Craig Handy on tenor sax, Steve Davis on trombone and Norbert Stachel on bari sax and bass clarinet, this set will blow you away.