Dave Holland Octet – Pathways

Dave Holland Octet
Dare 2 Records – 2010
Sounds of Timeless Jazz

Dave Holland returned to one of his favorite New York jazz clubs – the legendary Birdland – to record PATHWAYS with his incredible new octet. The Dave Holland Octet features several members of Holland’s modern ensembles including Robin Eubanks, Chris Potter, Steve Nelson and Nate Smith. However, Holland has added Antonio Hart, Alex Sipiagin and Gary Smulyan to the front-line to give the band a more flexible range of sounds.

Permeating this musical feast are five original Dave Holland compositions including two of his older compositions (“Shadow Dance” which was included on JUMPIN IN, Holland’s debut release, and “How’s Never” which Holland played with the Gateway Trio with Jack DeJohnette and John Abercrombie. Two contributions from Chris Potter (“Sea of Marmara”) and Alex Sipiagin (“Wind Dance”) round out the expressive program. It’s very important that you, dear listener, hear and recognize the mature playing of this great octet despite it being their debut.

You can be assured that the new Dave Holland Octet will be swamped with invitations to appear at some of the most happening venues around the world.

Reprinted with permission of…